Fire Type Pokémon Explained – Info, Strengths, Weaknesses


What are Fire Type Pokémon?

Fire type Pokémon are one of the eighteen elemental types found in the world of Pokémon. All Pokémon are categorized into various types based on their characteristics and abilities. They can be a single type or two different types.


Fire type Pokémon are generally associated with heat, fire and flames. They are most often found in areas where there are volcanoes and lava or in deserts and caves. The first Fire Type Pokémon in the Pokédex is 0004 Charmander. 

Charmander 0004

To date there are 87 Fire Pokémon including Pure Fire types that are only Fire type, and Half Fire types that are those Pokémon whose Primary or Secondary type is Fire.

Complete Fire Pokémon List


What are Fire Type Pokémon Strengths and Weaknesses?

When in battle, all Pokémon types have strengths and weaknesses against other Pokémon types. Their strengths and weaknesses can be reflected in the real world.

Fire Type Strengths:

When attacking – Fire type Pokémon moves are strong against Grass type, Bug type, Ice type and Steel type Pokémon. Just as in the real world Fire can destroy grass and bugs and melt ice and steel. 

When being attacked – Fire type Pokémon have a resistance to Fire, Grass, Bug, Steel and Ice type Pokémon. In the real world, none of these elements would manage to put out fire.

Fire Type Weaknesses:

When attacking – Fire type Pokémon moves are weak against Fire, Dragon, Rock and Water type Pokémon and will do very little damage.

When being attacked – Fire type Pokémon are weak to Ground, Rock and Water type Pokémon. This can be likened to real world situations – where soil, rocks and water can all be used to put out fire.


Starter Pokémon – Fire Type

With the exception of Pokémon Yellow and Let’s Go Pikachu, Let’s Go Eevee, video game players are able to choose their first partner Pokémon, known as a Starter Pokémon. Players are given a choice of a Grass type, Fire type or Water type Pokémon. The Pokémon that have been the Fire starter Pokémon are:

Pokémon Red, Blue, Green and FireRed, LeafGreen
Charmander 0004Charmander

Pokémon Gold, Silver, Crystal and HeartGold, Soulsilver, Legends Arceus
Cyndaquil PokémonCyndaquil

Pokémon Ruby, Sapphire, Emerald, Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire
Torchic PokémonTorchic

Pokémon Diamond, Pearl, Platinum, Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl
Chimchar PokémonChimchar

Black and White, Black 2 and White 2
Tepig PokémonTepig

Pokémon X and Y
Fennekin PokémonFennekin

Sun and Moon, Ultra Sun and Ultra Moon
Litten PokémonLitten

Pokémon Sword and Shield
Scorbunny PokémonScorbunny

Pokémon Scarlet and Violet
Fuecoco PokémonFuecoco


Pokémon Trainers that specialise in Fire type Pokémon

Throughout the Pokémon game series, players encounter Pokémon Gym Leaders and Trainers that specialise in Fire type Pokémon. 

Fire Elite Four

Flint – Sinnoh League (Diamond, Pearl, Platinum, Brilliant Diamond, Shining Pearl)

Fire Gym Leaders

Blaine – Cinnabar Gym (Red, Blue, Yellow, Gold, Silver, Crystal, FireRed, LeafGreen, HeartGold, SoulSilver, Let’s Go Pikachu, Let’s Go Eevee)

Chili – Striaton Gym (Black & White)

Flannery – Lavaridge Gym (Pokémon Ruby, Sapphire, Emerald, Omega Ruby, Alpha Sapphire)

Kabu – Motostoke Gym (Sword and Shield)

Trial Captain

Kiawe – Trial Captain of Wela Volcano Park (Sun & Moon, Ultra Sun & Ultra Moon)

Trainer Classes

Burglar – Various games

Fire Breather – Various games

Kindler – Various games

Super Nerd – Various games

Team Magma – (Ruby, Sapphire, Emerald, Omega Ruby, Alpha Sapphire)


Fire Type Pokémon in the TCG

While there are 18 different Pokémon types in the Pokédex and Video Game series, in the Trading Card Game (TCG) there are only 11 different Pokémon types. This means that in the TCG some categories contain more than one of the Game Pokémon types. 

Fire Type Pokémon in the TCG is a single type category and only includes Fire type Pokémon. The Trading Cards for these Pokémon have the Fire symbol in the top right-hand corner, next to the HP. 

006/165 Charizard ex

To use the Brave Wing attack associated with this card, the player must attach one Basic Fire Energy To use the Explosive Vortex move the player must attach four Fire Energy cards. When deciding which cards to include in a deck, players should be aware of the qualities and requirements of their chosen Pokémon cards.

At the bottom of the card is detailed information about that card’s weakness, resistance and retreat cost


In the TCG, Fire type Pokémon generally have a weakness to Fighting and Water types. The Charizard ex card above has a weakness to Water type Pokémon and attacks from these types do double damage.  


Fire type Pokémon cards are resistant to Fire, Grass, Steel and Water type Pokémon, this means that attacks from these Pokémon may do less damage due to that resistance. It also means that these types are weaker against Fire and that the player should use Fire Pokémon cards against these Pokémon.




Leave a comment