What Are Eeveelutions? – Info & Complete List

Eeveelution is the term given to an evolution of the Pokémon character, Eevee. It is a portmanteau word made up from the words Eevee and evolution. There are currently eight Eeveelutions.


What are Eeveelutions? – Eevee

All Eeveelutions - What are Eeveelutions

Eevee is a first generation Pokémon with the Pokédex number 136 that first appeared in the game Pokémon Red and Blue. This cute Pokémon is very popular with Pokémon fans.

A normal type Pokémon, Eevee naturally shies away from fighting. However, Eevee has the ability to evolve into different types of Pokémon depending on the method of evolution.

Listed below are all Eeveelutions grouped by Generation.


Generation I – 3 Eeveelutions Introduced

Three evolutions of Eevee were introduced in the first generation series:

Eeveelutions Vaporeon Jolteon Flareon


Eevee is able to evolve into Vaporeon through the use of a Water Stone. 

A water stone is a blue elliptical stone with a bubble insignia.

Vaporeon is a water type Pokémon with a grass and electric weakness.


Eevee evolves into Jolteon with a Thunder Stone. 

A thunder stone is a green stone with a lightning bolt insignia.

Jolteon is an electric type Pokémon with a ground weakness.


A Fire Stone is used to evolve Eevee into Jolteon.

A fire stone is an elliptical yellow stone with a flame insignia.

Flareon is a fire type Pokémon with a ground, rock and water weakness.


Generation II – 2 new Eeveelutions

Two new evolutions of Eevee were added in the second generation series:

Espeon and Umbreon


Eevee evolves into Espeon when it reaches a friendship level of 220 and goes up a level during the daytime.

Espeon is a Psychic type Pokémon with a bug, dark and ghost weakness.


Eevee is able to evolve into Umbreon it reaches a friendship level of 220 and goes up a level during the nighttime.

Umbreon is a dark type Pokémon with a bug, fairy and fighting weakness.


Generation IV – 2 new Eeveelutions

There were no new Eeveelutions in the third generation series but two more were added in the fourth.

Leafeon and Glaceon


Generation IV – Generation VI Eevee had to be taken to a moss rock in order to evolve into Leafeon. From generation VII a Grass Stone can be used.

A moss rock is a specific rock covered with moss that is located in a particular region. A grass stone is a green elliptical stone with a leaf insignia.

Leafeon is a grass type Pokémon with a bug, fire, flying, ice and poison weakness.


In the Generation IV – Generation VI games, Eevee had to be taken to an ice rock in order to involve. From Generation VII an ice stone can be used.

An ice rock is a specific rock covered with ice that is located in a particular region. An ice stone is a bluish stone with a snowflake insignia.


Generation VI – 1 new Eeveelution

The eighth Eeveelution was introduced with the Generation VI series.

Sylveon Eevee eeveelution


Eevee will evolve into Sylveon when it has a high affection level and knows a fairy-type move. 

Sylveon is a fairy type Pokémon with a poison and steel weakness.



Leave a comment