Dragon Type Pokémon Explained – Info, Strengths, Weaknesses


What are Dragon Type Pokémon?

Dragon type Pokémon are one of the eighteen elemental types found in the world of Pokémon. All Pokémon are categorized into various types based on their characteristics and abilities. They can be a single type or two different types.


Dragon type Pokémon are generally associated with myths and legends and are often found in caves or near water. The first Dragon Pokémon in the Pokédex is 0147 Dratini. 

Dratini  - Dragon type Pokémon

To date there are 75 Dragon type Pokémon including Pure Dragon types that are only Dragon type, and Half Dragon types whose Primary or Secondary type is Dragon.

Complete Dragon Pokémon List


What are Dragon Type Pokémon Strengths and Weaknesses?

When in battle, all Pokémon types have strengths and weaknesses against other Pokémon types. 

Dragon Type Strengths:

When attacking – Dragon type Pokémon moves are strong against other Dragon Pokémon. 

When being attacked – Dragon type Pokémon have a resistance to attacks by Electric, Fire, Grass and Water type Pokémon.

Dragon Type Weaknesses:

When attacking – Dragon type Pokémon moves are weak against Fairy and Steel type Pokémon and will do very little damage.

When being attacked – Dragon Pokémon are weak to Dragon, Fairy and Ice type Pokémon.


Pokémon Trainers that specialise in Dragon type Pokémon

Throughout the Pokémon game series, players encounter Pokémon Gym Leaders and Trainers that specialise in Dragon Pokémon. 

Dragon Champions

Drayton – Blueberry League (Indigo Disk Scarlet and Violet)

Iris – Unova League (Black 2, White 2)

Lance – Johto League (Gold, Silver, Crystal, HeartGold, SoulSilver)

Dragon Elite Four

Drake – Hoenn League (Ruby, Sapphire, Emerald, Omega Ruby, Alpha Sapphire)

Drasna – Kalos League (X and Y)

Drayton – Blueberry League (Indigo Disk Scarlet and Violet)

Hassel – Paldea League (Scarlet and Violet)

Lance – Indigo League (Red, Blue, Yellow, FireRed, LeafGreen, Let’s Go Pikachu, Let’s Go Eevee)

Dragon Gym Leaders

Clair – Blackthorn City Gym (Gold, Silver, Crystal, HeartGold, SoulSilver)

Drayden – Opelucid City Gym (Pokémon Black, Black 2, White 2)

Iris – Opelucid City Gym (Pokémon White)

Raihan – Hammerlocke City Gym (Sword and Shield)

Named Pokémon Trainers

Lance – (Black 2, White 2)

Ryuki – (Sun, Moon)

Zinnia – (Omega Ruby, Alpha Sapphire)

Trainer Classes

Dragon Tamer – (Various Games)


Dragon Type Pokémon in the TCG

While there are 18 different Pokémon types in the Pokédex and Video Game series, in the Trading Card Game (TCG) there are only 11 different Pokémon types. This means that in the TCG some categories contain more than one of the Game Pokémon types. 

Dragon type Pokémon in the TCG are a stand-alone category and only include Dragon type Pokémon. The trading cards for these Pokémon have the Dragon symbol in the top right hand corner next to the HP.

069/091 Noivern ex

In the TCG there are no Dragon Energy cards and so attacks and moves for these cards generally use Colorless Energy (which can be any other type of Basic Energy) or specify particular Energy that is required. 

To use the Covert Flight move, two Colorless Energy cards are required, while the Dominating Echo attack requires one Psychic Energy and one Darkness Energy.  When deciding which cards to include in a deck, players should be aware of the qualities and requirements of their chosen Pokémon cards.

At the bottom of the card is detailed information about that card’s weakness, resistance and retreat cost. 


In the TCG, Dragon type Pokémon have no specific weaknesses.


Dragon Pokémon cards have no specific resistance.




Leave a comment